iPad & iPhone Reviews for Kids, Parents, Educators, Artists, Art Lovers: Fine & Performing, Readers, News Junkies, Writers, Casual Gamers & anyone interested in the Best iPad and iPhone Reviews, Tips, Contests, Sales, Exclusive Sneak Peeks & Swag

UPDATE: June 19, 2011: My Scrap Life and Kid’s Corner had to be pulled from the App Store over a Copyright disagreement. The Contest is Closed.

My Scrap Life and Kids Corner

  • By: Dirk Bost
  • Genre: scrapbooking, creative app, children’s creative app, photo fun
  • Platform: iPad 
  • Price: $.99 (both apps, sold separately)
  • SAHGeekMom Rating: 4.75 Stars
  • Pump gives it 4.5 Pump’s up!
  • Recommended Age: Kids Corner Ages 3-11, My Scrap Life All Ages

 

Do you love to make scrapbooks on your iPad? What about your kids, do they have a creative side and enjoy playing with pictures?

If so, you are going to want to read this article and enter this contest brought to you exclusively by developer Dirk Bost, The Stay ay Home GeekMom and appadvice.com.

I brought you a review of Kids Corner, a scrapbooking app masquerading as just plain kid photo fun, back when it was new. It’s a great creative and educational app for kids. You can read about it here.

It was recently updated, and Dirk did a bang-up job.

There are tons of new elements to play with, and the interface, which was always simple, is now perfect for a child, even a pre-reader to interact with. It’s fast, fluid and the results are so much fun.

Pump, you know him by now, my seven-year-old son and co-reviewer, is a serious shutterbug.

And, he enjoys playing with photo editors, but if I actually said the words “scrap” and “book” to him in one sentence, he’d run for the hills. (Or his “secret” fort in the neighbor’s yard anyway.)

I am trying to raise-a-reader and artsy-type, but I seem, instead, to be raising a giant ball of mud that zooms in, empties my fridge, and zips back out leaving a trail of grimy footprints and me with a muck-encrusted kiss-mark if I’m lucky.

He’s getting ready to visit his Auntie Loo Loo (yes, we have funny names in my family) and his cousins Noa and Kaya in New York, all by himself soon.

So we went ahead and created a little project to send to them, to let them know how excited he is.

It took us under 15 minutes to make this, and when I say “us”, all I did was hand over the iPad and then save the project. He even takes his own screenshots now. (See gallery below.)

I don’t want to dwell on Kid’s Corner, you have my review, and it’s been much improved since I raved about it here and on appadvice.com.

Pump loved making himself into a pirate and exploring outer space when we first tried it out; these screenshots are from the original review.

 

But, I have to tell you about My Scrap Life, Dirk’s new app for all scrapbook fans, before we can get to the contest, so let’s check that one out. I’ll start by saying both apps, at only $.99 are a steal.

With My Scrap Life you don’t have to spend hours fine tuning a project, you get amazing looking results with an incredible degree of customizability, in no time at all. But you might get lost for hours, there are so many designs to play with.

I will be doing list of the best scrapbook making apps here and on appadvice and this is one of my top picks, and certainly the best deal in its class on the App Store.

There are no in-app purchases, and as the update to the kid version shows, you will be getting new content rolled out in stages.

Speaking of the content, many scrap-apps I have tried are cutesy. My Scrap Life has plenty of cute, if that’s your thing, but there is an artistic feel to everything from the cartoons to the word art. The elements look (beautifully) hand-drawn.

It has the same retooled sleek GUI as Kid’s Corner, and the same lightning speed (I added about 10 elements at once, like tap tap tap tap… and no problems or crashes on either iPad model.)

You get borders, backgrounds, word art, letter sets, (a nice touch, only minimally available in Kids Corner) pictures and clip-art, a text tool, easy saving, and sharing by email from within the app.

It is simple to scale, resize, rotate, duplicate and move items to the fore and background with a single tap.

Of course you can import photos from the iPad library, but you can also use something like Clipish, or just a Google’s image search, to get more backgrounds and items.

I don’t take a lot of art-quality flower photographs, I just got inspired from some My Scrap Lifr clip-art, opened Clippish Pro, did a search and ta-da.

(I believe I’ve mentioned my lack of talent before, so please, judge the app, not my creations. I look forward to seeing yours.)

I was so pleased to find all the same intuitive features of Kids Corner, but with a whole slew of new, more stylish graphic elements. The apps work alike, but are tailored for totally different markets.

I recognize a few borders from Kid’s Corner, but the content in this app is fresh, not recycled, and not geared towards younger kids.

It is, however, geared in part towards moms and dads, grandmas, teachers, and others who love to show off the kids in their world.

So you do find elements related to kids, but also to nature, parties, high school, art, even skulls and tattoos, and for all kinds of events.

The app has elements geared towards creating ecards and invitations, and has a full-functioning text tool for entering the details.

I’m still keeping my fingers crossed for Facebook integration, so I can torture more of my friends, but for now here’s something better.

EDIT JUNE !(, @)!!: Conest Closed, App No Longer For SAle

Purchase My Scrap Life and/or Kids Corner app for iPad. (Click on the icons up at the top, to go right to the app in iTunes)

  • Come up with your most creative scrap page.
  • Use the My Scrap Life or Kids Corner email feature and submit your work to ipadscrapbook@gmail.com
  • One $30 iTunes gift card winner will be selected for the My Scrap Life submissions.
  • One $30 iTunes gift card winner will be selected for Kids Corner submissions. (Creations from kids under 12 only please, moms and dads.)
  • The winner of each will receive iTunes gift cards, emailed from the developer, Dirk Bost, to the email address used to submit the scrap page.
  • There will also be one mega-winner of a $50 iTunes gift card for the best scrap page from both pools.
  • Winner’s scrap page will be featured on the My Scrap Life and Kids Corner website too.

Please, while not required, I’d love links to works in the comments, so readers can voice opinions and help Dirk pick the winners.

Look for more info, coming soon to appadvice.com, and start creating now.

Limit one entry per user, so be sure to send you very best.

The contest closes on 06/25/11 at 11:59 p.m. Winners will be notified by no later than 06/30/2011.

Please note, as you can read on my contest page, this is a contest I am happily helping to promote, but I will not be involved in the prize distribution.

I will be back tomorrow with something I’m very excoted to bring you. One of my most popular reviews, and my favorite interactive educational books on the App Store, Rome – A Virtual History (review here) has a new baby brother!

Mondadori Publishing has released Virtual History – The Last Supper. It’s simply incredible, but it’s not cheap. So read about it here and who knows, if you all keep clicking, I might just keep on giving.

More reviews and a new app list coming soon. For now please enjoy these recent reviews, lists and WeekEnd Editions. All previous contests are closed.

Happy App Hunting

The 

Comments on: "iPad Scrapbooking Fans Of All Ages: My Scrap LIfe" (3)

  1. […] as announced on AppAdvice.com and Stay at Home Geek Mom !!! 1. Purchase “My Scrap Life” and/or “Kids Corner” app for iPad. 2. […]

  2. […] as announced on AppAdvice.com and Stay at Home Geek Mom !!! 1. Purchase “My Scrap Life” and/or “Kids Corner” app for iPad. 2. Come […]

  3. fun

Leave a Reply

